Current




Hunter's Fallacy
Elza Sile ⩙ {F_x Office}
A Strawberry Solo Show
12.07. – 16.08.2020

saturdays & sundays 2–6pm

≜ or by appointment ≜



ceiling: 611 5th Ave fX, dimensions variable, cotton rope, 2020
left to right: strong conceit like a new principle, 50 x 65 x 2.7 cm, acrylic, markers and oil on aluminium, 2020; feeble red star construction, 110 x 100 x 2.5 cm, oil, markers, paper and etchings on aluminium, 2020; eve delight islands, 125 x 100 x 2.5 cm, oil and etchings on aluminium, 2020




ceiling: 611 5th Ave fX, dimensions variable, cotton rope, 2020
left to right: masturbatory check in a mirror, 90 x 70 x 3.4 cm, oil, gelatine, pencil lead, thread and etchings on aluminium, 2020; National Discovery, 50 x 65 x 2.9 cm, oil on aluminium, 2020; To be above common and natural flatters many men's laziness, 125 x 100 x 2.5 cm, oil, markers and etchings on aluminium, 2020




front: Office Area_ashtray over plato, dimensions variable, metafora table, drolligen sofa, officina ashtray, 2 paintings, 2020
left to right: Bureaucratic examination, 90 x 70 x 2.8 cm, oil and pen on aluminium, 2020; Pearl bone house, 62.5 x 45 x 2.8 cm, acrylic and etchings on aluminium, 2020




left to right: Animal restaurants_bathtub, 60 x 300 x 900 cm, stainless steel, aluminium, gelatine, paints, pencil lead, thread, 2020; Fx Office: The Event of Universal Interest, 5128px x 3650 px, scan to tif to jpg to screen, Ed 3 + 2 AC + 1 EC, 2020




Begging the question, 62.5 x 45 x 2.8 cm, oil and etchings on aluminum, 2020; Bureaucratic examination, 90 x 70 x 2.8 cm, oil and pen on aluminum, 2020




To be above common and natural flatters many men‘s laziness, 125 x 100 x 2.5 cm, oil, markers and etchings on aluminum, 2020; eve delight islands, 125 x 100 x 2.5 cm, oil and etchings on aluminum, 2020




masturbatory check in a mirror, 90 x 70 x 3.4 cm, oil, gelatine, pencil lead, thread and etchings on aluminum, 2020; feeble red star construction, 110 x 100 x 2.5 cm, oil, markers, paper and etchings on aluminium, 2020




strong conceit like a new principle, 50 x 65 x 2.7 cm, acrylic, markers and oil on aluminium, 2020; National Discovery, 50 x 65 x 2.9 cm, oil on aluminium, 2020

Photos by Romain Mader
Courtesy of unanimous consent and the artist




Elza paints. Or rather: Elza uses paint to create strangely architectural landscapes which remind of things familiar yet hidden in the buried creases of the mind.

Her almost ironic way of nonchalantly treating paint itself as a material which is layer of color but functions also as an architectural element or carrier of texture, combining it with items taken from every-day household and office situations, makes the work resemble child-like experiments at times. So innocently accessible in medium and form, the first experience remains unbothered by feelings of awe or inadequacy towards the work. No extraordinary frame of reference is required to enter them. It seems enough to have a mind.

Settings reminding of social and political spheres, timeless in their appearance, point to the larger structures societies are based on. Architectures taking the shape of what might be a greek amphitheatre, a roman court of justice,
contemporary parliament or lecture hall – you name it. Others more abstract, bringing larger patterns or schemes to mind. Brackets which enclose one social setting while suggesting that things might just as well be different – a little shift of a closing bracket from here to there and the convention will be another. Possibilities theoretically unlimited,
an air of dystopia inhabits the works.

What from afar resembles architectural sketches or schemes, upon taking a closer look, quickly draws our attention to the details. A fountain, something glossy and smooth, stairs leading up to another platform, inviting for a stroll to associate freely, following one element to the next in the dreamlike psychological spaces on aluminium canvas. X marks the spot or checks a box in a list of what might be reasons or tasks, or shelves?

Intrigued, we explore the psychological mindscapes, amused by the way in which she applies the material – so careful and detailed in some parts, only to serve us with unrefined sausages of paint in others, letting us just about hear the tacky sound of it coming out of the tube.

Still smirking, an uncanny feeling starts creeping up on us as we dive into the spaces. The friendly fountain… the X that marked the spot… the lovely living room plants – so accessible, familiar, easy to attend to, yet never quite allowing to settle. As soon as we get comfortable, a shape or a phrase denouncing our own psychological whereabouts starts vexing us, disturbing our peace.

Doubting, we start looking for patterns, our receiving gaze turning into the watchful eyes of a stalker – from one
element to the next, following the tracks of her mind.

One element barely identified, it already transforms into another. Next to a sloppy lump of paint, we find the glossiest piece of color, brushed a thousand tender times. Another one appearing as the sneakiest snake’s skin – beautiful
yet intriguingly malicious. Before we allow for suspicion, the snake turns back into a mere pattern of rhombs, flat,
almost mocking – ‘I’m just some geometrical form on aluminium canvas, whatever did you think, you little nut?’.

Repeating elements, arranged in psychedelic spatialities – there is no steady ground in here.

Were all those accessible elements just seductive traps to catch our attention? What kind of game is this? What mind would invent such traps? Who’s tracing whom here? What the fuck?

And that is the moment when we realise we are not in a safe space, exploring her take on the world. We are being watched – our thoughts and desires anticipated, leading us into the most seductive traps triggered by our very own minds on the basis of some mere static painting. Seizing our attention, teasing us, only to denounce our most
profane desires for the nice, glossy, symmetrical, comfortable. Naked, yet intrigued, we don’t even bother looking
for our clothes. Too curious about the mind that set us up, we go around, hunting for clues. And that is when the real, larger trap has snapped. The possibly impossible, yet addictively entertaining task of trying to figure out the game and mind of Elza S. Is there any way out of here?



Elza Sile (*1989, LV)

Lives and works in Zurich, CH, where she is currently enrolled at Atelierprogram Migros Herdern. Master of Arts in Fine Arts ZHdK Zurich, diploma with distinction in 2019. Nominated for the Shizuko Yoshikawa Award 2020.

Interest in Psycho-Spatial Typologies, working on organizational system SETS. Focus on the merger of the extruded image with the territorial perception of the painting, developing it on vertically held surfaces. Other aspects of her practice are constructing human scale trap installations, building models from painting materials, writing scenarios for paintings, as well as translating her vocabulary into various media such as stickers, stitchers, tattoos and collaborating for CG renderings.

Since 2019, she is part of {F_x Office} together with Ilona Isabel Stutz.

Current exhibitions at Kunsthalle Zurich (group), Kulturfolger Zurich (solo with {F_x Office}), Galerie Kirchgasse Steckborn (group) and unanimous consent Zurich Oerlikon (solo) et al. Upcoming exhibitions at Werkschau 2020 Zurich (group), Contemporary Art Center KIM? Riga (group) and Jenny‘s LA (solo) et al.


https://elzasilecom.com










Past



True Grid
Virtual sculpture
22.03. – 14.06.2020


A piece of art, a piece of meat, no kiss on the cheek.
Of course, and as for everybody else, it was all supposed to be different.


What was meant as a physical storage strangely turned into a metaphor for the social situation happening to all of us these days. While the artists themselves were not able to physically join us under the circumstances, their pieces did find a way – or many – to do so and gathered in a time when humans could not.

From Sunday 22nd of March till Sunday 14th of June 2020, we were posting one piece of the structure on Instagram every day. The structure kept evolving as did the nature of its content in these ever-changing times.

check out the corresponding videos here

Bam! It’s over. From 22nd March till 14th June, 83 artists have been contributing their pieces to the grid. It has been quite a journey. What started off as a storage to say hi to our space turned into a virtual structure of unknown dimensions. Some people have been wondering if the physical space exists at all. We are happy to inform you that it does and in the vein of the last piece we would love to welcome you there soon. But before we do, we would like to give a quick nod towards all the artists who contributed to the grid: Thank you so much for making it happen! For finding uncountable ways of submitting your works to us in these strange times. We love your spirit! Keep gridding it <3 #unanimousconsent #truegrid
Nusser Glazova, The Welcoming Cake, 2020 #nusserglazova #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Nicolas Rothenbühler, 176‘303‘153, 2020 #nicolasrothenbühler #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Julia Znoj, lock glass, 2020 #juliaznoj #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #seltisolation
Ruven Stettler, lange gehängt und nun abgelegen/ the sun setting against the horizon makes cairo seem magnificent, 2019/2020 #ruvenstettler #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Raphael Stucky, Licking, 2018 #raphaelstucky #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Annija Grosa, Summer night after sauna, 2015 Annija Grosa, Neighbors, 2019 #annijagrosa #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Jonathan Steiger, Biotech, 2020 #jonathansteiger #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Jeronim Horvat, Future Beach Survival Chain, 2018 #jeronimhorvat #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Janes Haid-Schmallenberg, Blauer Vogel, 2019 #janeshaidschmallenberg #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Liga Spunde, The Hole In the Heart, 2020 #līgaspunde #ligaspunde #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Mäschi, "My very first token economy“ (How mom learned that I only submit to a certain kind of system — a rewarding one), 1996 Mäschi, "My very first sketch of graffiti“ (How I learned about the correlation between the innumerable repetition of a simple task and the improvement of skills as a direct consequence of doing so), 2001 #mäschi #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Florian Dombois, Ein Windhauch, 2020 #floriandombois #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Anne-Laure Franchette, Swiss Hill of Singapore, 2018 #annelaurefranchette #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Anna Herms, Gli Anelli, 2018 #annaherms #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
André Simonow, Philipp König im Atelier, 2018 #andrésimonow #andresimonow #philippkönig #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Cathrin Jarema, “Implied Score #1”, 2019/2020 #cathrinjarema #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Elina Meksa, Spaceship4Juris, 2019 #elinameksa #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Philip Ullrich, On: PEER/SPECTIVE, 2016 #philipullrich #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Roberts John-Michelle Thick, The dreamer, 2020 #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Jürgen Baumann, Hahahaususus, 2019 #jürgenbaumann #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Martina Mächler, from a lexicon of gestures (to ask whether it’s time), 2019 #martinamächler #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Roman Selim Khereddine, Die Rennpferde des kleinsten Mannes, 2020 #romanselimkhereddine #cousboy #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Fid. Fischer, Fateful Destiny III, 2020 #fidschifischer #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Jan Hofer, Gschwür Transport, 2020 #janhofer #therealjanhofer #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Sarah Jacky, 'O moon', 'O sea', 'O love', 2019 #sarahjacky #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
David Knuckey, Untitled, 2020 #davidknuckey #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Philipp König, No Foolery, 2020 #philippkönig #philking77 #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Nico Sebastian Meyer, In Use Essences, 2020 #nicosebastianmeyer #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Maya Lama, Pale blue dot revisited ll, 2020 #mayalama #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Michael Etzensperger, Connected, 2020 #michaeletzensperger #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Anne Fellner, After Fragonard, 2020 #annefellner #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Lucas Herzig, the Show, 1/3, 2020 #lucasherzig #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Magdalena Baranya, Wenn du träumst, dass du träumst, 2020 #magdalenabaranya #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Michaël Reinhold, PRADA HERO, 2019 #michaelreinhold #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Maximilian Kirmse, M.T., 2016 #maximiliankirmse #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Jiajia Zhang, Dailies, 2015 #jiajiazhang #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Claudia Kübler, Re.RE, 2020 #claudiakübler #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Bernhard Hegglin, Folge 4, 2020 #bernhardhegglin #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Vipera&Haas, Mutanta, 2013 #zoravipera #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Vela Arbutina, Die Entwicklung entwickelt sich in die richtige Richtung, Bundesrat, 29.04.2020, 2020 #velaarbutina #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Silvan Hillmann, From: „Das Problem des institutionellen Charakters kleiner Elefanten“, 2013-2018 #silvanhillmann #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Fhunyue Gao, Loop, 2019 #fhungao #fhunyuegao #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Julian Zehnder, cats, 2019 #julianzehnder #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Cassidy Toner, Untitled, 2019 #cassidytoner #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
{F_x Office}, Glider, 2020 #f_xoffice #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Boris Siebs, D.K. 25.2.–16.5.2020, 2020 #borissiebs #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Jonas Etter, Trophy I, 2020 #jonasetter #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Pascal Sidler, oT (Küche) 2, oT (Küche) 1, oT (Küche) 3, 2018 #pascalsidler #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Lea Meier, Iglewww, 2020 #leameier #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Brigham Baker, Pumpkin, 2019 #brighambaker #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Andreas Waldmeier, digital memory, 2020 #andreaswaldmeier #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Thomas Moor, Аква Минералe, 2019 #thomasmoor #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Effi & Amir, RoWaR, 2008 #effiandamir #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Elza Sile, Animal farm: deletion, unit 1,2&3/ca. 1.1872m3 shelf, 2020 #elzasile #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Flavia Senn, bitter & twisted, 2016 #flaviasenn #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Michael Bodenmann, she told me that it’s still ok to smoke in heaven., 2020 #michaelbodenmann #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Bertold Stallmach, Das Prinzip der zweckmässig assoziierten Gewohnheiten (auf USB), 2019 #bertoldstallmach #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Asia Dellanoce, Help! I’m in a pickle, 2019 #asiadellanoce #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Ardil Yalinkilic, Secret No: 1 (sketch), 2016 #ardilyalinkilic #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Philipp Schwalb, Light inversion of the goods cover T.O. seven supporting sides of a small group and its dynamics: Colour and image, text and sound, social issues and research, environment in private and in general, all in all, all in one and nothing on nothing. Thank you aethaleif / convention together. Please join!?$, 2020 #philippschwalb #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Johanna Kotlaris, GAZE, 2020 full album on https://soundcloud.com/user-723543107/gaze-full-album-1/s-YXRlX #johannakotlaris #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Dominic Michel, Mob Mob Mob Mob Mob, 2019 #dominicmichel #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Barbara Signer, A certain place in Tokyo One hundred years of confusion, 2020 #barbarasigner #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Denis Twerenbold, do not stare into beam, 2020 #denistwerenbold #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Vinzenz Meyner, Modell für ein chinesisches Zimmer (II), 2020 #vinzenzmeyner #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Tim Wandelt, flamingo, 2019 #foundandfixed #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Angela Baumgartner, Untitled Sword (Sketch), 2020 #angelabaumgartner #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Hannes Zulauf, untitled, 2019 #hanneszulauf #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Clifford E. Bruckmann, penpals at the coffeehouse (a sculpture in honor of r.), 2020 #cliffordebruckmann #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Yamu Wang, Dice Piece, 2019 #yamuwang #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Valentina Pini, Comme une pamplemousse sous la langue, 2018 #valentinapini #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Simon Risi, 2332800, 2020 #simonrisi #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Benedikt Stäubli, schellenstrick, 2020 #benediktstäubli #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Basile Dinbergs, Sans titre (chut!), 2020 #basiledinbergs #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
0.0.01.0.0 , +, 2020 #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Adrian Schär, Support and Relief, 2020 #adrianschär #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Marilou Bal, untitled, 2018 #mariloubal #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Alina Kopytsa, Extension of the body, 2016 #alinakopytsa #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Kevin Aeschbacher, untitled, 2019 #kevinaeschbacher #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Marco Luedi, Olympic Floor, 26/33, 2019 #sport #sportdesign #official #pro #rio2016 #keeptheflameburningtill #tokyo2021 #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
In Jung, It was a long way and i am here, 1-2/10, 2020 #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
Josse Bailly, Broken piece, 2020 #jossebailly #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation
For further information, please visit https://www.unanimousconsent.fyi/current 👉🏻〰️❤️ #unanimousconsent #artistrelieffund #selfisolation